Student Government

Students participate in shared governance through the Student Government Association (SGA). SGA officers are elected on both the Danville and Charleston Campuses.  All students are members of the SGA.  SGA provides several College-wide mechanisms for students to give input or to raise issues.  Students review and coordinate student government business, serve as ex-officio members on organizational committees. 

SGA also provides a mechanism for students to raise issues that may need to be aired in the form of the “Open Forum”.  SGA officers facilitate Open Forums to hear the students concerns.  The Director of Assessment attends the forum to gather data for program improvement.  Information from the forum is compiled and communicated to the faculty, staff, and other administrators. Feedback or action is reported to students at SGA meetings.

Students are further involved in improving the quality of the program through completion of course and faculty evaluations, surveys (Noel-Levitz SSI and EBI Exit Survey), and through suggestion boxes on each campus.  Faculty and administration use student input toward curriculum development and course refinement, and institutional improvement.

All enrolled students are members of the Lakeview College of Nursing SGA and can participate as a member or an elected officer in the Student Government Association.  Please refer to Student Government By-Laws.

SGA officers must be full-time students in good standing.

Student Nurses Association of Illinois/National Student Nurses Association

All students are encouraged and have the opportunity to be active participants in SNAI/NSNA their nursing student association on a local, state and national level. The College supports membership in the National Student Nurse Association, which is the professional organization for student nurses. LCN will pay the membership fee (one year) for each student enrolled in the N210 Foundations of Professional Practice.  In addition to meetings and local activities on each campus, students are encouraged to attend the State and National conventions and to serve as officers at all levels.  Please visit www.nsna.org to learn more about membership benefits (leadership opportunities, awards and recognition, and scholarships).


Mission

"Our mission is to act as a liaison between the students and the faculty.  We want to encourage a positive atmosphere at Lakeview and reach out to the surrounding community."

For questions about SGA or student issues here at Lakeview, e-mail members.


Danville Campus SGA

Officers

President - Nick Parks

nparks@lakeviewcol.edu

Vice President - Kelsey Moreland

kmoreland@lakeviewcol.edu

Secretary - Ashley Malone

amalone@lakeviewcol.edu

Treasurer - Jeff Coborn

jcoburn@lakeviewcol.edu

Public Relations - Stephanie Ijaola

sijaola@lakeviewcol.edu

Historian - Jackeline Moreman

jmoreman@lakeviewcol.edu

Class Representatives:

Bianca Cotter  bcotter@lakeviewcol.edu

Rafaella Viana   rviana@lakeviewcol.edu


Charleston Campus SGA

Officers

President - Kat Garcia

kgarcia@lakeviewcol.edu

Vice President - Gareth Miller

gmiller@lakeviewcol.edu

Secretary - Cody Meyer

cmeyer@lakeviewcol.edu

Treasurer - Noe Valdivia

nvaldivia@lakeviewcol.edu

Public Relations - Brandi Rhoads

brhoads@lakeviewcol.edu

Historian - Samuel Ross

sross@lakeviewcol.edu